free time

I Am The Snake Charmer

20140614-162600-59160002.jpg

I’d like to start this post with a note to mention no animals were harmed today and I was very delicate with my handling.

Got a hold of my first snake today. I’ve touched and held those massive corn snakes you see at the museum, but this was my first wild capture. I believe the specimen to have been a black rat snake common to the Piedmont region of North Carolina. It was about 3.5 feet in length and displayed a particularly calm and passive behavior. I came upon the snake in the middle of enjoying a round of disc golf with one of my friends. We were simply walking between holes when all of a sudden I noticed the snake in the middle of the path about two steps in front of me. So statuesque, I actually wasn’t certain it was real for a period of time. My friend is by no means a fan of snakes, but I’ve always had an interest in them. Up until today I wouldn’t say fear, but a profound respect for the animal kept me from attempting to handle one in the wild. This time, I knew what I had to do. First, I slowly approached the animal and began speaking parseltongue exactly how I have always been taught. I would describe the snake’s reaction to my attempted communication as amiable, and decided to progress in my advances. Next, I moved a short stick in front of the snake to gage it’s aggression. With so little response, I felt comfortable moving onward once more. It was time to make my move. I quickly yet smoothly grasped the snake down towards the tail end. The snake reacted very little, but slowly serpentined in the air. I had done it. I am the snake charmer. After coming to the agreement that neither myself nor the snake was in danger, I picked up a stick about as long as the snake and allowed the snake to coil around the stick supporting more of it’s weight. Didn’t want to just leave it hanging! I was able to document the encounter and then I placed the snake a little ways away from the sidewalk to avoid less friendly encounters in the future. It was a thrill to hold the snake. I could feel how strong it was, but also observe it’s grace. Once I held the snake I knew I had to hold more. I can’t help but wonder how long it will be until my next encounter and will I be all the more confident have had this experience? END

Standard

Leave a Reply

